Lo and behold: my new race steed

5 05 2009


Picture taken at Formentor beach, Mallorca (April 2009)

Bike specs:

2006 Orbea Orca frame
Campagnolo Chorus 10 speed group, 50/39 crankset, 12/23 sprocket
2007 Mavic Cosmic Carbone SL wheels (with customized Orbea decals)
Ritchey WCS handlebars, headset and seatpost
Campagnolo Record Skeleton brake calipers and Record Shifters
(slick racing green) Schwalbe Stelvio clinchers

Verdict after 600km in Mallorca: a superb bike. Lightweight, responsive and easy to handle. Best of all, it climbs and sprints like a rocket. It looks the part, too. Can you tell I’m a happy cyclist?


Actions

Information

5 responses

5 05 2009
bob rodriguez

That is a wonderful bike. Congratulations!

6 05 2009
Dirk Lecluse

Hey Tom,
Very nice bike indeed !
Almost making me consider the upgrade to a set of Cosmic Carbones (but would help much for me anyway)
Enjoy the ride,
D

15 08 2009
Nic

sweet! id like to get orbea decals also..where did you get them?

15 08 2009
Tom Van Hout

Hi Nic, the person I bought the bike from had the decals custom designed. I could get details for you if you’re interested. Then again, any graphic designer can do this I’m told.

19 08 2009
Nic

Hi Tom,
How much would these cost?

Leave a comment