Here come the drums and a rhymin Simon

1 11 2009

She said it’s really not my habit to intrude
Furthermore, I hope my meaning won’t be lost or misconstrued
But I’ll repeat myself, at the risk of being crude
There must be fifty ways to leave your lover

The military percussion in this song is sheer perfection.

She said it grieves me so to see you in such pain
I wish there was something I could do to make you smile again
I said I appreciate that and would you please explain
About the fifty ways

So is Paul Simon’s flow.

She said why don’t we both just sleep on it tonight
And I believe in the morning you’ll begin to see the light
And then she kissed me and I realized she probably was right
There must be fifty ways to leave your lover

Pure genius.

Paul Simon – 50 ways to leave your lover (Columbia Records, 1975)

Trivia: do you know of the 45 additional ways to leave your lover?


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

