Sweet dreams are made of this

30 03 2009

It is perhaps a sign of the times (insert your facebook quiz peeve here), but here are 5 athletic goals I want to reach before I turn 40 – I’m 31 at present. In no particular order: qualify for and race the Escape from Alcatraz triathlon, ride the Tour of Flanders 256k cyclo in the rain, run a sub 4h marathon, race a sub 4h45 half IM and conquer the Mont Ventoux (from Bédoin) in under 90 minutes.

Once I have reached these goals, I plan to take a swimming vacation in Malta and a cycling vacation in Colorado with my mate Bob, who sent me this jaw-dropping picture of the 2008 Rocky Mountain Bike Tour.

Bob on climbing Colorados Independent Pass I remember seeing the last pitch as I came out of the trees and thinking... oh,$#%$#! and just put my head down

Bob on climbing Colorado's Independent Pass: "I remember seeing the last pitch as I came out of the trees and thinking... 'oh,$#%$#!' and just put my head down"

Actions

Information

One response

31 03 2009
Bert

you go for it! I’d start with the easiest one: Tour of Flanders and just in the end do the most difficult one: 90′ Mont Ventoux. I’d say it will take lots of specific climbing trainings…

Leave a Reply

