2008 Hawaii recap: was ‘Rotke’ robbed?

12 10 2008

Storylines from the 30th edition of the IM championships in Kona, Hawaii:

  • strong headwinds and blistering 42°C heat
  • Craig Alexander’s astonishing race (and splits);
  • Chrissie Wellington’s overall dominance & superiority;
  • Yvonne Van Vlerkenburg’s 2nd place finish at her Kona debut;
  • Marc Herremans’ third place finish in the handcycle division;
  • Norman Stadler’s surge and meltdown during the marathon;
  • The DNF’s of Chris McCormack, Bert Jammaer and Frederik Van Lierde;
  • The anynomous race exit by all-time triathlon great Luc Van Lierde;
  • Marino Vanhoenacker’s disappointing 21st position overall;
  • Outstanding Belgian age-groupers: Inge Vancauwenberghe (AG winner), Michel Dewilde, Thierry Verbinnen, Bob De Wolf, Wim Van De Wielle, Frederik Sleutel, Alain Vervoort and Christian Bodson (50-54 AG winner). Here are the results for all 30 Belgian competitors.

Headlining this year’s race IMHO was

  • Rutger Beke’s heartwarming come-from-behind third place (his fourth top-4 finish in Kona), including the second fastest marathon split. He may have won the damn thing had he not received a 4 minute drafting penalty.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: