Race preview: Aarschot

16 07 2008

On Sunday, I will compete in the 7th International Hageland Power Triathlon. It’s my season finale and also, my longer-than-Olympic-distance race debut. The Power Triathlon is a middle distance, non-drafting race with a 2050m swim leg, 60km bike leg and a 15k run leg. My race goals are: a) finish, b) pace myself during the swim and bike legs and c) run consistently (**hubris disclaimer**: around the 5 min/km mark).

3 loop swim course (4-2-3-1-2-3-1-2-3)

3 loop swim course (4-2-3-1-2-3-1-2-3)

Mentally, I’ve got my mind on my PhD and my PhD on my mind. Other than that, I’m in good spirits. I was able to do all but two (one long ride, one long swim) training sessions in the build-up to the race, I’ve shed some pounds and I’m about to have my bike serviced for ease of mind. Physically, I’m a little weary from last week’s summerschool and last-minute race organizing issues. And this tapering off thing is difficult. See you at the races!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

